State Courses

Maine Security Training Courses

Training & Certifications

Maine Security Courses & Certifications

Maine Security Guard Essentials Course

Maine Course

Maine Security Guard Essentials Course

The Maine Security Guard Essentials course will prepare you to work as an unarmed security guard in the state of Maine. Great for those just starting out in the security profession or as a yearly refresher course for unarmed guards, this 6-hour interactive course teaches the critical fundamentals for security guard professionals including Maine State Laws, Rules, and Regulations. 

Price: $29.99
Length: 6 Hours

Maine Requirements

Minimum Requirements for Unarmed Security Guards in Maine

The Maine State Police Special Investigations Unit provides licensing for professional security companies. https://www.maine.gov/dps/msp/licenses-permits/professional-investigator

The state of Maine does not require individual security guards to be licensed, but does license contract security companies. Per Maine Revised Statute §9405, licensees must meet these minimum qualifications:           

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Be a U.S. citizen
  • Not have been dishonorably discharged from military service
  • Not have been convicted of a crime punishable by one year or more imprisonment, or within the past 5 years, any crime

A licensed private security agency must register each employee with the state by completing an Identification Card Application, submitting current photographs of the employee, and two fingerprint cards for completing a background check. Each employee will receive an employee identification card.

For complete information regarding qualifications and licensing, see IAC 661-121.5(80A): https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/chapter/12-29-2021.661.121.pdf

Licensing Requirements in the State of Iowa

In Iowa, security guard agencies must be licensed through the Iowa Department of Public Safety: https://dps.iowa.gov/divisions/administrative-services/bail-enforcement-private-investigation-private-security

To be licensed, a company must:

  • Complete an online application: https://iowadps.imagetrendlicense.com/lms/public/portal#/lookup • Meet the minimum qualifications as described in Iowa Administrative Code 661-121.5(80A): https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/chapter/12-29-2021.661.121.pdf
  • Submit fingerprints and complete a background check
  • Maintain liability insurance
  • Maintain a surety bond of $5000
  • Submit pictures of all uniforms, badges, insignia, patches, and hats for review

Checklist for applicants: https://dps.iowa.gov/sites/default/files/administrative-services/licensing/PIPSBE_Checklist.pdf

Ready to Kick-Start
Your Career?