State Courses

Massachusetts Security Training Courses

Training & Certifications

Massachusetts Security Courses & Certifications

Massachusetts Security Guard Essentials Course

Massachusetts Course

Massachusetts Security Guard Essentials Course

The Massachusetts Security Guard Essentials course will prepare you to work as an unarmed security guard in the state of Massachusetts. Great for those just starting out in the security profession or as a yearly refresher course for unarmed guards, this 6-hour interactive course teaches the critical fundamentals for security guard professionals including Massachusetts State Laws, Rules, and Regulations. 

Price: $29.99
Length: 6 Hours

Massachusetts Requirements

Minimum Requirements for Unarmed Security Guards in Massachusetts

The state of Massachusetts does not require individual security guards to be licensed, but does license watch, guard, or patrol agencies to be licensed. 

While the state does not stipulate the minimum qualifications of an unarmed security guard, most security companies follow these industry hiring guidelines:

  • Must be at least 18 years old with provisions that the candidate must be able to perform the duties required of the position

  • Must be a citizen or national of the United States, a lawful permanent resident, or an alien authorized to work

  • Must possess a high school diploma, GED, or equivalent. Also, the applicant should demonstrate an ability to read, write, and speak English and the language(s) most appropriate to his or her assigned duties.

  • Successfully pass a background check

  • Must not have been convicted of or pled guilty or nolo contendere to a felony or job related crime for a minimum seven-year period immediately preceding the candidate’s date of hire. Any felony conviction discovered in the course of conducting the search should also be considered relevant to the candidate’s qualifications for the position.

  • Submission of a fingerprint card or electronic fingerprint

  • Pass a drug screening test

A list of licensed security agencies is available here: https://www.mass.gov/doc/active-watchguard-licenses-12072021/download 

Licensing Requirements in the State of Massachusetts

Per Massachusetts General law, Part I, Title XX, Chapter 147, Section 22: the business of watch, guard or patrol agency, including the furnishing, for hire or reward, of watchmen, guards, private patrolmen or other persons to protect persons or property, to prevent the theft or the unlawful taking of goods, wares or merchandise, or the misappropriation or concealment thereof or of money, bonds, stocks, notes or other valuable documents, papers or articles of value, or to procure the return thereof, whether or not other functions or services are also performed for hire or reward, or other persons are employed to assist therein. https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartI/TitleXX/Chapter147/Section22

A list of licensed security agencies is available here: https://www.mass.gov/doc/active-watchguard-licenses-12072021/download 

To be licensed, a company must:

  • Complete an application:  https://mspcert.chs.state.ma.us/cert/ext/global/landing.action?bod=1508433951497&page=1&m=presentLanding

  • Provide certification from three reputable community members that they have personally known the applicant for three years, that they have read the application and believe the statements made are true, that they are not related to the applicant by blood or marriage, and that the applicant is honest and of good moral character

  • Have no felony convictions

  • Give the commissioner a $5000 surety bond

The license must be renewed annually and posted within the company’s office.

The colonel of the state police shall approve the company's name, which shall not contain the words ''police'', ''fire'', nor any name which denotes or implies any association with agencies of the governments of the United States, the commonwealth or any of its political subdivisions.

Licensed companies shall maintain a record of employee statements certifying the following information:

  • Full name

  • Date of birth

  • Residence

  • Parents' names and places of birth

  • Work history for prior 3 years

  • Their not having been convicted of a felony or of any offense involving moral turpitude

Guards are only allowed to wear a badge on the left breast of their uniform. The badge shall not contain the word ''Police'' or any part of the seal of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts or of any political subdivision thereof. A licensee or his employee or agent may use as identification a card, approved as to form by the colonel of the state police, which shall bear the signature of the licensee and, if such card is used as identification by an employee or agent, the signature of such employee or agent.

A licensee or his employee or agent shall carry only such weapons and equipment as are authorized by the colonel of the state police; provided, however, that if said licensee, employee or agent, is authorized to carry a firearm, as defined in Chapter 140, section 121, said firearm shall be loaded while in the performance of his duties. A licensee, or his employee or agent, while in the performance of his duties, shall not carry an imitation firearm as defined in Chapter 140, section 121.

Any watch, guard or patrol agency shall maintain daily records which shall include the names of guards and other employees carrying guns in the performance of their duties, the purpose of their carrying such guns and whether such guns are the personal property of the guards and other employees or issued by such agency.

Ready to Kick-Start
Your Career?