The Mississippi Security Guard Essentials course will prepare you to work as an unarmed security guard in the state of Mississippi. Great for those just starting out in the security profession or as a yearly refresher course for unarmed guards, this 6-hour interactive course teaches the critical fundamentals for security guard professionals including Mississippi State Laws, Rules, and Regulations.
Length: 6 Hours
The state of Mississippi does not license or regulate unarmed security guards. While the state does not stipulate the minimum qualifications of an unarmed security guard, most security companies follow these industry hiring guidelines:
Must be at least 18 years old with provisions that the candidate must be able to perform the duties required of the position
Must be a citizen or national of the United States, a lawful permanent resident, or an alien authorized to work
Must possess a high school diploma, GED, or equivalent. Also, the applicant should demonstrate an ability to read, write, and speak English and the language(s) most appropriate to his or her assigned duties.
Successfully pass a background check
Must not have been convicted of or pled guilty or nolo contendere to a felony or job related crime for a minimum seven-year period immediately preceding the candidate’s date of hire. Any felony conviction discovered in the course of conducting the search should also be considered relevant to the candidate’s qualifications for the position.
Submission of a fingerprint card or electronic fingerprint
Pass a drug screening test
Mississippi does not have any licensing requirements for unarmed security guards and unarmed security guard companies. Armed guards are required to receive a permit from the Department of Public Safety.
To receive a permit, individuals must:
Complete an application and have it notarized: https://www.driverservicebureau.dps.ms.gov/sites/default/files/Documents/SECURITY-GUARD-PERMIT-APP-%281%29.pdf
Submit fingerprints and complete a background check
Not have been convicted of a felony
Complete a weapons training course
Complete the Domestic Violence Affidavit and Authority to Release Information forms and have them notarized
Bring the completed, notarized application to the Department of Public Safety Headquarters in Jackson or a Mississippi Highway Patrol District Substation in Greenwood, Batesville, New Albany, Starkville, Meridian, Hattiesburg, Biloxi, or Brookhaven
The permit must be renewed every four years.