The Ohio Security Guard Essentials course will prepare you to work as an unarmed security guard in the state of Ohio. Great for those just starting out in the security profession or as a yearly refresher course for unarmed guards, this 6-hour interactive course teaches the critical fundamentals for security guard professionals including Ohio State Laws, Rules, and Regulations.
Length: 6 Hours
In order to work as a security guard in the state of Ohio, you must be a registered employee of a state licensed security company. While the state does not stipulate the minimum qualifications of an unarmed security guard, most security companies follow these industry hiring guidelines:
In Ohio, security guard companies are regulated by Private Investigator Security Guard Services (PISGS), a part of the Ohio Department of Public Safety.
All companies offering security guard services in the state of Ohio must be licensed by Private Security Guard Services (PISGS), a part of the Ohio Department of Public Safety. PISGS issues three different types of licenses:
To receive a license, a company or individual must:
Licenses must be renewed each year.
Aggravated burglary, breaking and entering, burglary, deception to secure writing, endangering children, forgery, identify fraud, misuse of a credit card, misuse of the law enforcement automated database system (LEADS), passing bad checks, receiving stolen property, safecracking, theft, voyeurism, wiretapping, or the attempt to commit any of these offenses.
A licensed company must register its employees with the department of public safety within 3-7 days of their date of hire. To register an employee, a company must provide:
If the employee passes the background check, they will be issued an identification card to keep on their person while on duty. This registration must be renewed annually by paying a fee.
If the employee will carry a firearm as part of their duties, they must complete a firearms basic training program that includes:
OR, be a former peace officer who previously had completed a firearms training course. Employees who will carry firearms must requalify annually on a firearms range.
Once registered, the employee will receive a notation on their identification card that they are a firearm-bearer.