The Rhode Island Security Guard Essentials course will prepare you to work as an unarmed security guard in the state of Rhode Island. Great for those just starting out in the security profession or as a yearly refresher course for unarmed guards, this 6-hour interactive course teaches the critical fundamentals for security guard professionals including Rhode Island State Laws, Rules, and Regulations.
Length: 6 Hours
The state of Rhode Island requires security guards to be registered and security guard businesses to be licensed through the Office of Attorney General. The state does not stipulate the minimum qualifications of an unarmed security guard, but most security companies follow these industry hiring guidelines:
Must be at least 18 years old with provisions that the candidate must be able to perform the duties required of the position
Must be a citizen or national of the United States, a lawful permanent resident, or an alien authorized to work
Must possess a high school diploma, GED, or equivalent. Also, the applicant should demonstrate an ability to read, write, and speak English and the language(s) most appropriate to his or her assigned duties.
Successfully pass a background check
Must not have been convicted of or pled guilty or nolo contendere to a felony or job related crime for a minimum seven-year period immediately preceding the candidate’s date of hire. Any felony conviction discovered in the course of conducting the search should also be considered relevant to the candidate’s qualifications for the position.
Submission of a fingerprint card or electronic fingerprint
Pass a drug screening test
Individuals and companies operating a security guard business in the state of Rhode Island must be licensed through the Office of Attorney General (https://riag.ri.gov/securityguardlicense). Per Rhode Island General Law § 5-5.1-8, license applicants must:
Be at least 18 years old
Be a citizen of the U.S. or a resident alien
Not have been convicted of a felony
Not have had their license or registration revoked or application for the license or registration denied by the attorney general or by the appropriate authority of any other jurisdiction
Not have been declared by any court of competent jurisdiction incompetent by reason of mental defect or disease and not having been restored
Not suffer from habitual drunkenness or from narcotics addiction or dependence
Be of good moral character
Submit an application: https://riag.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur496/files/documents/SecurityGuardLicense.pdf
Submit fingerprints and complete a background check
Submit a certificate of insurance evidencing comprehensive general liability coverage for bodily injury, personal injury, and property damage with endorsements for assault and battery and personal injury, including false arrest, libel, slander, and invasion of privacy, in the minimum amount of $300,000 for bodily or personal injury and $100,000 for property damage
Pay a fee
The license must be renewed every two years.
Licensed companies are required to register their employees with the attorney general by filing "employee's registration statements" stating the employee's:
Full name, age, address, place and date of birth
Occupation for the previous five years
Status as having never been convicted of a felony or of any offense involving moral turpitude