State Courses

West Virginia Security Training Courses

Training & Certifications

West Virginia Security Courses & Certifications

West Virginia Security Guard Essentials Course

West Virginia Course

West Virginia Security Guard Essentials Course

The West Virginia Security Guard Essentials course will prepare you to work as an unarmed security guard in the state of West Virginia. Great for those just starting out in the security profession or as a yearly refresher course for unarmed guards, this 6-hour interactive course teaches the critical fundamentals for security guard professionals including West Virginia State Laws, Rules, and Regulations. 

Price: $29.99
Length: 6 Hours

West Virginia Requirements

Minimum Requirements for Unarmed Security Guards in West Virginia

The state of West Virginia requires security guards to be registered and security guard businesses to be licensed through the Secretary of State. Per West Virginia Code Chapter 30, Article 18 (https://www.wvlegislature.gov/wvcode/code.cfm?chap=30&art=18), employees of licensed security companies must:  

  • Be at least 18 years old

  • Be a U.S. citizen

  • Not have had any previous license revoked or application denied

  • Not have been declared incompetent by reason of mental defect or disease

  • Not suffer from habitual drunkenness or from narcotics addiction or dependence

  • Not been convicted of a felony

  • Not been convicted of any of the following:

    • Illegally using, carrying, or possessing a pistol or other dangerous weapon

    • Making or possessing burglars instruments

    • Buying or receiving stolen property

    • Entering a building unlawfully

    • Aiding an inmates escape from prison

    • Possessing or distributing illicit drugs

Licensing Requirements in the State of West Virginia

Per West Virginia Code Chapter 30, Article 18 (https://www.wvlegislature.gov/wvcode/code.cfm?chap=30&art=18), for a company to be licensed, the applicant must:

  • Be at least 18 years old

  • Be a U.S. citizen

  • Not have had any previous license revoked or application denied

  • Not have been declared incompetent by reason of mental defect or disease

  • Not suffer from habitual drunkenness or from narcotics addiction or dependence

  • Have a minimum of one year of full time employment conducting security guard business or conducting the private investigation business working for a licensed firm, or have one year of substantially equivalent training or experience

  • Not been convicted of a felony

  • Not been convicted of any of the following:

    • Illegally using, carrying, or possessing a pistol or other dangerous weapon

    • Making or possessing burglars instruments

    • Buying or receiving stolen property

    • Entering a building unlawfully

    • Aiding an inmates escape from prison

    • Possessing or distributing illicit drugs

  • Submit an application: https://sos.wv.gov/FormSearch/Business/Private-Investigations-and-Security-Guards/pisg_app.pdf 

  • Submit character references from five reputable citizens (unrelated through blood or marriage to the applicant) who have known the applicant for at least five years

  • File a surety bond in the amount of $5000 or sufficient proof of liability insurance

  • Submit fingerprints and complete a background check

  • Pay a fee

 The license must be renewed every two years

Licensed companies must provide a roster of employees to the Secretary of State's office.

Ready to Kick-Start
Your Career?